Why Josh Steffler, non-partisan Council Candidate, is running in Esquimalt Municipal election: ‘I do not belong to any political party, nor do I consider myself either right wing or left wing.’ … JoshSteffler.wordpress.com

Why I am running in the Esquimalt Municipal election

My name is Josh Steffler, and I have lived in Esquimalt for over 10 years.

I have lived my whole adult life here.

I first moved here because it was the cheapest rent I could find as a young man moving out on his own.

Over the years, I have come to love so much about Esquimalt.

The rec center has been a place where I have taught my kids to swim, the Songhees trail is where I have taken many romantic walks with my wife, and all of the beaches here have been a place of solace and contemplation.

Our festivals have always been something to cheer as well.

We have the unique Buccaneers Days, and our own Lantern Festival, and so much more.

There are so many great parks here and great businesses that I cannot name them all.

As we come into this election, many issues are at the forefront.

The light rail transit issue, our policing issue, the sewage treatment plant, the village plan, and so many more.

I look forward to talking to everyone and anyone about the issues that they think are most important to them, and what Esquimalt means to them.

I think that when voices are heard and more opinions are discussed, better decisions will arise.

I don’t think it is just the job of the council to decide the fate of Esquimalt, but the job of each and every single person in our wonderful town.

I do not belong to any political party, nor do I consider myself either right wing or left wing.

I am a listener and talker, and think the best decisions made are non partisan.

I believe that since I am not in any party or any left/right ideology, I am able to listen and look at any and all plans, and not dismiss anything because of the source of where it came from.

We have some tough decisions ahead of us this term, both fiscal ones and social ones, and I hope to play my part in making the best decisions ever.

2 Responses to Why Josh Steffler, non-partisan Council Candidate, is running in Esquimalt Municipal election: ‘I do not belong to any political party, nor do I consider myself either right wing or left wing.’ … JoshSteffler.wordpress.com

Leave a comment