‘It is the proverbial skeleton in the closet, which will no doubt open up all kinds of other insights into his nature once I really start digging.’… Gregory Hartnell to Larry Wartel on Peter George Hartnell’s incarceration for his politics

Gregory Hartnell
GREGORY HARTNELL, PRO-LIFE INDEPENDENT CANDIDATE
OAK BAY DISTRICT COUNCIL ELECTION: NOVEMBER 19, 2011
Dear Larry:
Thanks very much for your interest in our family, which is very unusual for me to ponder, and for the new information about your own family.
I prefer being called by my baptismal name, Gregory… don’t really like ‘Greg’ and certainly never ‘Craig’, which I get called sometimes by people who really don’t know me.
I realize in writing to you just how much more I have to learn about our family, especially this truly troubling history of our father’s incarceration for his politics… that is something that I obviously have delayed investigating.
I think I need to pray to the Creator to find the courage to do it.
It is the proverbial skeleton in the closet, which will no doubt open up all kinds of other insights into his nature once I really start digging… there must be a part of me that is still afraid of what I may discover.
Peter was older than Herbert, who worked at the Queen’s Printer, corner of Superior and Government.
As far as I know, there were no other babies born to ‘Baba’ and Grandpa Henry.
I certainly remember Baba vividly, as she ended up moving from May Street to living and managing the Thunderbird for quite a number of years for my parents, but I have no memory of Grandpa Henry.
Irony: as a young boy, I had a paper route that went through the provincial government offices, and I ended up selling them for coins in the lobby of the Queen’s Printer every day.
We bought the Times (then a Liberal paper) for six cents and sold them for a dime.
We made more money selling papers every day for coins than the other kids did with residential routes.
 They had to go around every month’s end to collect and that was a real ordeal…  I know, because I tried the residential route thing also and found it was a real waste of time…
Anyway, I would often see Uncle Herb as he exited the building, after working at producing government propaganda all day long.
He was always friendly, and I never had any problems with him, but it should also be emphasized that my political consciousness was completely dormant at the time.
I don’t think Social Credit came along until the late fifties or early sixties.
My parents voted Social Credit provincially, and probably Conservative federally.
I do remember Dad extolling Premier W. A. C. Bennett and Prime Minister John Diefenbacker at the kitchen table.
But I also had a sense that he was considered a maverick and if he had party cards, it never helped him advance in those parties.
His fascist background shadowed him, and prevented him and my mother from being accepted into bourgeois Victoria society, in my estimation.
I have never heard of your relative C…. B…, and it is sad that he has apparently been involved in some shady business deals.
May I suggest you pray for him, as you would pray for any enemy, that he be gifted with Holy Wisdom before he dies.
That will help both of you.
I feel we are good friends now, and so I also feel free to call you ‘dear’ in my salutations to you.
However, I am not ‘bi’!
Shalom
Gregory
PS: A couple of other websites I maintain occasionally (in case I haven’t told you about them):
Leave a Reply

