Shirley Robinson, ‘Occupy the Lobby’ lady, to Premier Christy Clark on carcinogenic ‘stupid meters’: “These new technologies have not been around long enough to prove their safety and yet your Liberal Government is willing to risk the lives of British Columbians and use us–young and old alike–as guinea pigs in an effort to reduce power consumption.”

From: Shirley Robinson <loveacat@shaw.ca>
Date: October 23, 2011 9:44:25 PM PDT (CA)
To: “Hon. Christy Clark” <premier@gov.bc.ca>
Cc: “Hon. Rich Coleman” <rich.coleman.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “Hon. Michael de Jong” <mike.dejong.mla@leg.bc.ca>, Adrian Dix <adrian.dix.mla@leg.bc.ca>, John Horgan <john.horgan.mla@leg.bc.ca>, Mike Farnworth <mike.farnworth.mla@leg.bc.ca>, “Elizabeth May, M.P.” <Elizabeth.May@parl.gc.ca>, Carole James <carole.james.mla@leg.bc.ca>, Norm Macdonald <norm.macdonald.mla@leg.bc.ca>, Jane Sterk <leader@greenparty.bc.ca>, Ingrid Voigt <ingridrefed@gmail.com>
Subject: Breast Cancer
Dear Madam Premier,
October is “Breast Cancer Awareness Month”, which I’m certain you already know. To not be aware of Breast Cancer, you have to be living under a rock.
But do you have any idea how devastating a disease Breast Cancer is? Maybe not. I know that, even though, as a child, I had an aunt who suffered terribly and died from it, I didn’t have any reality on what it does to a woman mentally and emotionally until I lost my own breast to cancer. I won’t even attempt to describe to you what I’ve been going through since I lost my breast two years ago this coming Saturday–some anniversary–and I’m post-menopausal, the typical age group for Breast Cancer victims.
However, Breast Cancer doesn’t just attack women over 50. Imagine being 18 years old and losing one or both of your breasts. At that age, especially if you are large breasted, it must be easy to be talked into “reconstruction”, which leaves you with one or two ugly, scarred lumps of fat, from your buttocks and legs, on your chest which hardly look or feel like the breasts you lost. But maybe, at that age, that’s better than just being left with nothing there but ugly scars.
Imagine being a young woman in your twenties or thirties going out on a first date and thinking, “What will he think when he knows?”
Or, worse yet, being a young woman, pregnant, with no breasts with which to feed your yet unborn child? The thought breaks my heart.
I don’t know if you’ve seen the documentary “The SCAR Project: Breast Cancer is Not a Pink Ribbon”. If not, I’m including some of the images from the film for you to see. Maybe I’ll even get up the nerve to show you what my chest looks like for comparison. It isn’t a pretty sight–I shower now with only a night light on.
The point I’m getting at is that all this attention that Breast Cancer gets every October really bugs me. We’re always talking about, and begging money for, finding a “cure” for cancer, when it seems to me that prevention is what we really need to focus on. Why can’t we eliminate/reduce some of the things in our environment that are causing all of this cancer in the first place?
One known cause of all cancers is radiation exposure. We’re getting bombarded with more and more of it from many different sources every day. This is why I can’t understand your Liberal Government and BC Hydro insisting on pursuing the course of wireless EMF radiation emitting smart meters in every home and business. They are known to be carcinogenic. (see attached pdf file)
Please have a look at the following images and/or click on the link provided to see more. Is THIS how you want every woman in British Columbia to look? Would YOU want to look like this? I know I never wanted to, or would I wish it on anyone else, but this is what’s already happening and these meters can and will make it worse. I mean, would you want to sleep with one of these meters running 24/7 within feet of your bed? Or, worse yet, a bank of dozens of them under your bedroom floor or on the other side of your bedroom wall? You’re asking B.C. women of all ages to do just that and expose themselves to radiation that can cause them to lose their breasts–or worse, their lives. This is what YOU and BC Hydro are condemning British Columbia women to!
You and your Liberal Ministers think that the Moratorium that the UBCM passed a few weeks ago and the moratoriums that the municipal governments are passing every week now are a joke. Think again! At least those politicians are listening to their voters.
This may not be the effect of these meters in the immediate future–say the next year or two. It may take twenty to forty years before we find out how much damage these things cause. You and I will possibly be dead by then anyway–maybe that’s why you don’t care. However, I know plenty of young women who DO care! These new technologies have not been around long enough to prove their safety and yet your Liberal Government is willing to risk the lives of British Columbians and use us–young and old alike–as guinea pigs in an effort to reduce power consumption. NICE!
Meanwhile, more and more young women will end up like the ones in The SCAR Project–at what cost to B.C. Medical?–having to live with the effects and fears of this devastation for the rest of their lives, long or short.
Then one day–maybe several decades down the road–some government will wake up and say, “OOPS! We need to fix this!”, but by then it will be too late, just like it is now with the ozone layer.
Is that the kind of legacy you want to leave behind? “Christy Clark could have stopped this back in 2011, but….” PLEASE look at the following images and think about it. Maybe you’ll wake up one morning and say, “Let’s fix this NOW, before it’s too late!” I certainly hope so, for ALL our sakes.
This has been a very hard letter for me to write–talking about my Breast Cancer is not something I do easily, but I feel that I HAVE to right now.
I know you probably won’t ever see this–you’re much too busy to read all of your mail, I’m sure. Some staff member of yours will read it–maybe only part of it–and then hit “delete”, or maybe they’ll send me one of your form letters first. I don’t really care. I had to get this off my chest. (No pun intended.)
Sincerely,
Shirley Robinson
205-1000 McClure Street
Victoria, B.C. V8V 3E9
250-383-1309
“If the Environment were a Bank, we’d have saved it by now!”
The SCAR Project: Breast Cancer Is Not a Pink Ribbon
Photos courtesy of the SCAR Project:  http://www.thescarproject.org/gallery/
Leave a Reply

