CFAX Radio News’ Liz McArthur gets it exactly backward: ‘Gregory Hartnell says one constable in particular has made at least one call to his home to confirm his attendance at the prayer vigil at the clinic. He says he did attend the protest for about two hours.’ THIS IS COMPLETELY FALSE.

Pro-life council candidate alleges police harrassment

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

images

October 16, 2011

A candidate for Oak Bay municipal council has made claims on one of his blogs that he is being harrassed daily by West Shore RCMP after participating in a pro-life protest outside a women’s clinic in View Royal.

 

Gregory Hartnell says one constable in particular has made at least one call to his home to confirm his attendance at the prayer vigil at the clinic. He says he did attend the protest for about two hours.

West Shore RCMP had no comment Sunday night.

Hartnell has run unsuccessfully in municipal elections in the past. He is running against incumbent councillors Pam Copley, John Herbert, Tara Ney, as well as Corey Burger, Bill Carver, Cairine Green, Michelle Kirby, Colleen Kirkpatrick, Kevin Murdoch and Susan Woods.

-Liz McArthur

2 Responses to CFAX Radio News’ Liz McArthur gets it exactly backward: ‘Gregory Hartnell says one constable in particular has made at least one call to his home to confirm his attendance at the prayer vigil at the clinic. He says he did attend the protest for about two hours.’ THIS IS COMPLETELY FALSE.

  1. goyodelarosa says:

    I have received three phone calls from Westshore R. C. M. Policewoman Shannon, tyrannical invasions of our privacy.

    The first one I found on our message service on Saturday after I arrived home from the peaceful, legal 40 Days for Life pro-life prayer vigil.

    I ignored it as she was asking me to confirm attendance at something she called the ‘Helmcken protest’.

    I do not believe that I ever announced my intention to attend, nor did I report attendance at a ‘Helmcken protest’ at any of my blogs, and I maintain four of them.

    I mistakenly picked up her second intrusive call on Sunday, forgetting to check to see who was calling.

    I asked her what she wanted, why she was calling and she said she just wanted me to confirm that I was there.

    I said something to the effect that ‘you know full well that I was at a peaceful, pro-life prayer vigil, as you have been reading my blog, you have been tapping my phone and you have been reading my emails.

    ‘I am a Victoria resident and you have no business interrogating me as your Westshore RCMPolice detachment has no jurisdiction over this municipality.

    ‘You shouldn’t do it, you know it is wrong and you should stop it.’

    I then hung up.

    She phoned right back, but I didn’t pick up, and she then left a sweet-sounding message saying that she just wanted to confirm my attendance at ‘the Helmcken protest’, because my name was in a file, and she just wanted to make sure I was the right person, and would I please phone her at the RCMP Westshore detachment office, etc.

    Her tone of voice was very apologetic, but nevertheless she denied even knowing about my blog, denied tapping my phone, denied reading my emails.

    It begs the question, if she didn’t even know about the blog, and hasn’t been snooping into our calls and emails, how did she get my name, why did she phone me, and what is this harassment really all about?

    Gregory Hartnell

  2. Diane Dillon says:

    Gregory as I suggested when we spoke save all voicemails and document all this. they are definitely invading your privacy etc. also I mentioned there may be a file you are not aware of. it is your right to ask for any information the RCMP or Police have on you. it is done through the freedom if information and privacy. they have to send anything and all files on you.
    I have forms here but you can ge tthem online and send them in. They have 30 days to respond and will send you a letter.This is how you find out and any lies which may be enclosed. Remeber the story about me being a 38 year old blonde, nice but not true never been a blonde and not 38. it proves the RCMP member never met me and did not investigate anything. Aslo please send me the item we spoke of this morning about the shots fired issues . I will be meeting with people tommorrow about that

Leave a Reply

