Gregory Hartnell: If elected to serve as an Oak Bay Councillor, I will not vote to give myself a salary hike, but will donate my total salary to Victoria Hospice for three year term

Should politicians be paid anything at all?

Frankly, I don’t think so.

Money from special interest groups’ lobbyists corrupts politics locally, regionally, provincially, federally and globally.

Everyone deplores it, but very few are actually willing to do anything about it.

Should I have the honour to serve the hardworking people of Oak Bay as one of their new Councillors this fall, I will not vote to give myself a salary hike, as the Mayor and Councillors of Esquimalt just did.

In that jurisdiction, Mayor Barb Desjardins just approved a 41% raise for herself, and her greedy Council just gave themselves a 25% raise!

Rather than steal more money from hard-pressed Oak Bay residential and commercial property taxpayers, I will advocate a salary freeze for Mayor and Council of Oak Bay for the next three year term, and I will personally donate my total salary to Victoria Hospice, in gratitude, every year of that term.

PLEASE VOTE:

GREGORY HARTNELL

FOR OAK BAY COUNCIL

NOVEMBER 19

One Response to Gregory Hartnell: If elected to serve as an Oak Bay Councillor, I will not vote to give myself a salary hike, but will donate my total salary to Victoria Hospice for three year term

  1. goyodelarosa says:

    Erin McCracken describes how Mayor Barb Desjardins and Esquimalt Council just gave her a 41% pay raise, and the Council gave themselves a 25% pay raise:

    http://www.bclocalnews.com/vancouver_island_south/victorianews/news/131071543.html

Leave a Reply

